VIRGINIA (FOX 5 DC) - Undocumented immigrants can now legally drive in Virginia thanks to a new law that went into effect at the beginning of this month.
The law allows individuals who are non-US citizens and cannot meet Virginia's legal presence requirements to obtain a driver privilege card.
Residents of Virginia who fit the following criteria can now obtain a driver privilege card:
- You are a non-U.S. citizen who is a resident of Virginia
- You have reported income from Virginia sources or are claimed as a dependent on a tax return filed in Virginia in the past year
- Your driving privilege is not currently suspended or revoked in any state, including insurance-related infractions.
The following documents are required each time an individual applies for a driver privilege card:
- Two proofs of identity
- Two proofs of Virginia residency
- Proof of your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number
- Tax return documentation
The minimum age for obtaining a driver privilege card is sixteen years and three months. To obtain a Virginia driver privilege card learner's permit, individuals must be at least fifteen years and six months.
Each issuance of a driver privilege card will cost $50.00. The cost of a combined driver privilege card and permit is $53.00.
Tests to obtain a driver privilege card may include a vision screening, a two-part knowledge exam and a road skills test.
For more information on applying for a driver privilege card, click here.