'Move over' law expanding in Maryland, drivers asked to move over for service, utility crews
ANNAPOLIS, Md. - The "move over" law is expanding in Maryland. Beginning on October 1, motorists must change lanes or slow down when passing police cars, as well as transportation, service and utility crews on the side of the road. Those who violate the law could face a $110 fine.
The law, which had only applied to emergency vehicles, law enforcement vehicles and tow trucks now applies to transportation, service and utility vehicles, as well as waste and recycling trucks that have their lights flashing, according to the Baltimore Sun.
The Maryland State Highway Administration says the newly expanded law is meant to protect people who work along the side of the road
The Maryland Department of Transportation says if it's impossible to switch lanes, drivers must slow down.
Those who don't follow the law, drivers will be fined $110 and the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) must assess one point against the driver's license.
MDSHA says if the violation contributes to a crash, the fine is $150 and three points against the driver's license. If the crash from striking a service crew or law officer results in death or serious bodily injury, the fine is $750.
Lawmakers said the change will help protect people like 30-year-old Laurel sanitation worker Marcus Colbert, who was killed on the job last year when an SUV crashed into his garbage truck.
The Associated Press contributed to this story.