Summer break over for 13 DC public schools on extended-year calendar

Summer break is over for students at 13 of D.C.'s Public Schools who are on the city's extended-year calendar.

More than 4000 students began classes on August 13. School officials say the extended-year curriculum is designed to eliminate summer learning loss.

According to D.C. Public Schools, the extended-year calendar adds 20 days onto the school year. Officials say students who attend an extended-year school beginning in kindergarten benefit from an additional year of learning by the time they reach the 8th grade.

"At DCPS, we are committed to putting our students' needs first in everything we do, and I am proud that for the third consecutive year, students at 13 of our schools will have more time for academic and social emotional learning through our extended-year calendar," said Interim DCPS Chancellor Amanda Alexander in a statement.

13 schools on the extended-year calendar in School Year 2018-2019 are:

--Garfield Elementary School (Ward 8)
--H.D. Cooke Elementary School (Ward 1)
--Hart Middle School (Ward 8)
--Hendley Elementary School (Ward 8)
--Johnson Middle School (Ward 8)
--Kelly Miller Middle School (Ward 7)
--King Elementary School (Ward 8)
--Luke C. Moore High School (Ward 5)
--Randle Highlands Elementary School (Ward 7)
--Raymond Education Campus (Ward 4)
--Roosevelt STAY High School (Ward 4)
--Thomas Elementary School (Ward 7)
--Turner Elementary School (Ward 8)

School for the remaining 103 D.C. Public Schools will begin on Monday, August, 20.