Ticketing begins at 5 new DC speed camera sites

WASHINGTON (AP) — District of Columbia police are starting to issue tickets to drivers caught by five new speed cameras in the city.

Ticketing from the five locations was scheduled to begin early Wednesday after a 30-day warning period.

The speed limit at four of the locations is 25 mph. At the other site, it's 30 mph. Police say they place cameras at spots where speeding is a problem. The cameras are designed to catch drivers going at least 10 mph over the speed limit.

AAA Mid-Atlantic says the District has added 66 new speed cameras since January 2014. However, revenue from the cameras dropped to a seven-year low last year.

Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Locations of the new speed cameras:

- 2600 block of Wisconsin Avenue NW in the northbound direction. The speed limit is 25 mph.

- 4400 block of Reservoir Road NW in the eastbound direction. The speed limit is 25 mph.

- 700 block of Maryland Avenue NE in the southwest direction. The speed limit is 25 mph.

- 2400 18th Street NE in the southbound direction. The speed limit is 25 mph.

- 3000 Pennsylvania Avenue SE in the northwest direction. The speed limit is 30 mph.